Sinful Desires Vols: 1-5 by M.S. Parker

Cover of Vol 1

Cover of Vol 1 from Goodreads

Synopsis:

Why in the world had I agreed to go home for my five-year reunion when I hated pretty much all of my classmates? Right, because I was an idiot. I should’ve known better.

When Las Vegas exotic dancer, Piper Black, goes back to Philadelphia for her reunion, she knows it’s not going to be an enjoyable experience, and she’s right…until she ends up sleeping with her high school crush. What she doesn’t know is that Reed Stirling has a secret that ruins everything.
Can he make things right? And even if he does, will Piper be able to forgive him?

My Review:Two Heart Rating

It’s really hard to review this series as an individual book because each book is so short. It’s a five part series, and each book is about 100 pages, so I decided to just rate the whole series together.

When I first started reading the first book, I almost gave it up. I hated Piper so much, because her inner dialogues made me want to punch her in the virtual face. Then I hated Reed even more. But I believe that was M.S. Parker’s point in the first book.

I don’t want to give too much away, and it is very hard to review without doing so, because the story-line is very complex. M.S. Parker definitely had a way of making me pause and say “What???” with a mortified expression on my face.

As I was reading, it was noticeable the way that M.S. Parker’s writing improved. As a fellow writer, I understand that in the beginning it is very easy to stick to cliches and cheesy writing, because I constantly am going back and reading my own work *cringe*. So none of this is her fault, it’s the fault of the cliches even being around and being so easily written! In fact, I think that Parker had an awesome story.

Reed held out a hand without acknowledging his sister’s last comment. I shook it, trying to ignore the little tingle through my hand and up my arm. -Sinful Desires Vol 1

That above is a quote from one of Piper’s inner dialogues. I really laughed out loud when I read it, and almost put the book down because it felt like a teenage soap opera. But by the third book, M.S. Parker’s writing changes tremendously, and you can tell that she got much more in depth with her characters.

Piper is a very lost character. She continuously says she’s not easy throughout the book…but as I read it…I wondered ‘Well then what is she?’ From a realistic perspective, there are many girls who go through the same things that she went through, and I felt sympathy for her and her lost sense of worth, even though I was yelling at her ‘You’re STUPID!’. Then again, when I’m watching TV I yell at the characters too, but they’re not horrible, it’s just how their meant to be.

Overall, I recommend this book series just so that you can read to the ending. The ending is beautiful, innocent, and made me cry. M.S. Parker did a wonderful job of establishing different relationships, and made the reader sympathetic with Piper and her obstacles in life.

Signature

2 thoughts on “Sinful Desires Vols: 1-5 by M.S. Parker

  1. hsavage1 says:

    YES!! I get so wrapped up in the characters. My husband laughs at me because of how I act when I read. Like the Mercy Thompson series and the Chicagoland Vampires series. ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

