Pocketful of Sand by M. Leighton| Review

24875354Synopsis: “She’s beauty for my ashes. And I’m hope for her heartache.”—Cole Danzer.

I don’t know what makes a great love story. Is it that instant attraction when boy meets girl? The passionate kisses and the fairy-tale ending? Or is it a lifetime of tragedy, paid in advance, for a few stolen moments of pure bliss? The pain and the suffering that, in the end, you can say are worth it for having found the missing piece of your soul?

The answer is: I don’t know. I don’t know what makes a great love story. I only know what makes my love story. I only know that finding Cole when I did, when Emmy and I were running from a nightmare, was the only thing that saved me. That saved us. He was more broken than I was, but somehow we took each other’s shattered pieces and made a whole. If that is what makes a great love story, if that is what makes an epic romance, then mine…ours is the greatest of them all.

About the Author: I was born and raised in the United States, and I’ve lived in several of the fabulous fifty. Though I currently live in the deep South, I spent much of my childhood up North and hope to return there one day. A few other things about me: I believe that sometimes you have to look really, REALLY hard to find the good in people, but it’s there. I believe that I’m shrinking (I swear five years ago I was two inches taller). I believe my husband is quite possibly one of the most amazing men in the entire world (I can’t be sure because I haven’t met all of them). I believe coffee and chocolate, when combined, could be the basis for world peace. I believe that Jesus rocks and communism doesn’t. I believe that white makes me look fat and black collects lint. I believe summer’s too hot, winter’s too cold and fall was made for football. I like dogs better than cats and the first movie in a trilogy is invariably the best. But most of all, I believe that love conquers all.

My Review:Three Heart Rating

This book was being blown up all over Aestas Book Blog‘s Facebook, so I knew I needed to try it out. The teasers were killing me! So I picked it up first chance I got.

Mind you, I’m very sick while posting this (stomach bug) so please bear with me.

I desperately wanted to love this book. Don’t get me wrong, it has all the features of a spectacular story. The characters, Oh. My. God. The characters… The setting…the back-stories…

It’s one of those books where you just have to know what’s going on with them. They have these beautiful emotional stories that just floor the reader, leaving you squeezing your heart and screaming Whhyyyyyy?! to the pages.

Cole is your typical, emotionally-wrecked hero. But I absolutely adore that M. Leighton created a very fitting personality for him. The trend lately in novels is this bad boy with a cocky attitude, but with a tortured past. Cole has closed in on himself, refusing even the slightest bit of contact with people so he could wallow in his own misery. Isn’t that more realistic?

“I don’t have anything to give you, Eden.  I’m broken.  More than I ever thought I could be.  But you can have what’s left of me.  If you want it.  You can have what little I have to give.”

“That’s all I want, Cole.  That’s all I want.”

Eden absolutely broke my heart. For a 23 year old woman, I couldn’t believe the depth of her character and her strength. She’s so beautiful in her soul, and her loyalty and love towards her daughter is something that all parents should strive for. When you find out her story…you will bleed.

Of course, there’s always a weak spot in my heart for this guy who treats little kids well, and just seems to understand them.It’s not a very common trait in this day’s world, and Cole was brought up a couple pegs for it.

“This is my daughter, Emmy.”

“Hi, Emmy,” he greets, his voice softly scratchy as he addresses her. It brings chills to my arms and a lump to my throat. I imagine this is his daddy voice, the one that says you are loved and I would never hurt you.

So why didn’t I give it a full star review? What was it about this book that left me battling back and forth on my opinion?

One was probably the pacing. I can really dig a good cheesy book, especially when I know it’s going to be cheesy. But this story did not deserve the instant attraction between the two characters. It deserved that build up and intensity that leaves the reader begging for them to just be together. It seemed like Cole and Eden went from not talking to each other and being awkward to passionate sex much too quickly. They trusted each other much to easily with their backgrounds. Plus, there was a lot of parts that really dragged on for me.

Another was the sex. As a writer myself, I know that sex is probably one of the hardest things to write about. It’s embarrassing, it’s nerve-wracking, and you desperately want to put the passion on the paper that you feel in your heart for these characters. But I really felt that the sex was too forced on these two. For such a beautiful, and heart-wrenching story, I just felt that the sex scenes sometimes marred my view of the two. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that they shouldn’t have sex. Heck, if I knew Cole I’d want to jump his bones too. BUT I feel that it shouldn’t have been written the way it was. Just my opinion. Don’t shoot me for stating it.

Would I recommend this book? Holy HELL would I recommend this book. It deserves to be read, and spread among the masses like a wildfire. M. Leighton did a fantastic job of capturing the readers and entangling them in this romantic love story.

Signature

Purchase it from Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

