Play by Kylie Scott| Review

PlaySynopsis:

Readers the world over fell in love with sexy drummer Mal in Kylie Scott’s first Stage Dive novel. Now, Kylie Scott is back, and this time it’s bad-boy Mal’s turn to fall in love.

The drummer in a wildly successful rock band, Mal’s never had trouble with the ladies. It doesn’t hurt that he’s sexy as hell with a wicked sense of humor. But as much as Mal loves his ladies, romance and happily-ever-after just isn’t in his set of cards. Until one night, Mal meets the woman of his dreams. But can this cynical rocker ever trust in love?

Kylie Scott

About the Author: Kylie is a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author. She was voted Australian Romance Writer of the year, 2013, by the Australian Romance Writer’s Association and her books have been translated into six different languages. She is a long time fan of romance, rock music, and B-grade horror films. Based in Queensland, Australia with her two children and husband, she reads, writes and never dithers around on the internet.

My Review: Four Hearts rating

I can’t even tell you how excited I was to try out this book. After reading Licknovel #1 of the Stage Dive Series, I wanted more. More of the delicious rock band, Stage Dive. More of the musical sexual innuendos. More of the characters that KS had brought to life on the very paper in front of me. When I saw this book was about Mal, I could already feel myself bouncing on the chair because I couldn’t wait to crack open the binding and just see what adventure he was going to take us on.

Mal was one of my favorites in Lick. He’s funny, very outspoken, but you can tell that he has a method to his madness. I’ve never had a thing for blondes, but I think I could go blonde for Mal, because Hot-Holy-Hell-Damn does he sound like a hot piece of sandy blonde. I’m thinking Sawyer from Lost. In fact, I kept imagining him with an accent every time he spoke. Is it a rock star stereotype that I always imagine them with British or Australian accents? Can we pretend that he’s got one? Please? 0.0

Anne made my day. She wasn’t the typical, bad-ass, cold as ice heroine that seems to be the ‘in’ these days. She was funny, sometimes weak, but strong emotionally and always there for support. Her ability to bring down a bad situation made me like her even more. Not many people could handle the way that Mal talks, because he basically has no filter, but I’m pretty sure she knocked him out with her witty ways.

“Your pubes,” he said, angst filling his voice. “Where are they?”

“I wax.”

“Well, stop it. I want cute carrot colored pubic hair like on the top of your head. I deserve it.”

Did I mention how hilarious these two were together?

“We’ve broken my bed,” I said, stating the obvious.

“In battle, sacrifices must be made, pumpkin.”….

“They’re mocking us,” I said.

“Nonsense. We just fucked so hard we broke your bed. They wish they were us. The natural order of sexual status has been restored.”

For once, I wasn’t completely disgusted with the inner monologue of someone. She was so real and was so good for Mal. It almost made me jealous.

Don’t let the quotes fool you, it’s not one huge joke the whole book. You’ll be crying with tears of happiness and joy, and then something turns around and you just *sigh* break. Because Mal is awesome. And you love him.

Some people think he’s too manic and crazy, but the fact that KS let him keep his characteristics from the previous book made me want to hug her, because that doesn’t always happen.

Thank you, for submerging me deep into the rocker world, the Stage Dive world I should say, and letting me get a taste of the delicious romance (and hot HOT sex) of these enticing men.

Please pick up a copy of Play right now!Signature

Play (Stage Dive Series Book 2)

One thought on “Play by Kylie Scott| Review

Leave a Reply

