Lead by Kylie Scott

Lead

Synopsis:As the lead singer of Stage Dive, Jimmy is used to getting whatever he wants, whenever he wants it, whether it’s booze, drugs, or women. However, when a PR disaster serves as a wake-up call about his life and lands him in rehab, he finds himself with Lena, a new assistant to keep him out of trouble.

Lena’s not willing to take any crap from the sexy rocker and is determined to keep their relationship completely professional, despite their sizzling chemistry. But when Jimmy pushes her too far and Lena leaves, he realizes that he may just have lost the best thing that ever happened to him.

Kylie Scott

About the Author: Kylie is a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author. She was voted Australian Romance Writer of the year, 2013, by the Australian Romance Writer’s Association and her books have been translated into six different languages. She is a long time fan of romance, rock music, and B-grade horror films. Based in Queensland, Australia with her two children and husband, she reads, writes and never dithers around on the internet.

My Review: Four Hearts rating

To say that I’ve become obsessed with Kylie Scott’s books is an understatement, as is clearly shown in my love for her previous novels in the Stage Dive Series: Lick & Play. There is something about the rockstar being this loving creature underneath all those piercings, tattoos, and rough exterior. Something about turning this person who is supposed to be a manwhore, or in some people’s eyes they’re considered dark and evil, having a redeemable characteristic and loving a woman so much that they are able to ‘change their ways’.

Lead is all about Jimmy, the lead singer of the band and the one with some of the biggest problems. I’m going to admit that going into the book, I was skeptical. I hated being skeptical because when has KS done me wrong? But I hated Jimmy so much in the previous books. He was the epitome of the rocker, drugged out and sexed up without a care in the world. There is mention in the other books of him getting clean, so this book takes place after he has already quit drinking/smoking/snorting/screwing and whatever else he was doing.

But my doubts were eliminated as I was reading. KS captured Jimmy’s character in a new light, without losing himself as a character. He was still grumpy, quiet, with just a tad of a hot temper. But the struggle is real. We see it everyday in our world, as people are lost in the abyss of drugs or alcohol to chase away their own demons. How could David come out so spectacular, only to leave Jimmy rotting in this pit of addiction? There is always a reason for one persons attitude.

This was Jimmy is all his glory, rude as fuck and not a single social nicety to him.

In order to keep Jimmy in line, the band decides to hire a person to be around and make sure he doesn’t get his hands on anything ‘yummy’. He needs to stay sober and sane, or they’re done. After Jimmy recycles his fair share of people (they really just can’t handle his crappy attitude), they end up hiring Lena on spur of the moment.

Lena is firey. I think that’s what I love most about Kylie Scott’s novels is that she is so good at creating awesome characters. Sure, Jimmy has his problems, and Mal was a little bit too crazy (but we loved him anyways), but Lena had me rooting for her the whole time. She doesn’t put up with his attitude, and enjoys putting him in his place. In fact, it’s too the point that the band notices their constant banter.

“Why are you two always kicking each other?” Ben asked, interrupting the heated looks. “Just out of interest?”

Jimmy shrugged. “Everyone has their hobbies, Ben.”

They are just so good together *sigh*. Everyone knows that the more we pick on each other the more we love em right? Am I right? *cricket* Okay so maybe I’m the only one who thinks it’s adorable the way that these two are constantly bickering. It had me c.r.a.c.k.i.n.g. up.

“So, Lena, darling, tell me, for curiosity’s sake. When do you put out?”

I stepped closer, going toe to toe with him. He got worried then, the dimples disappearing and his forehead creasing. So he fucking should.

“Jimmy, my love,” I said, my voice soft and sweet. “I don’t fuck a guy until he has the balls to actually man up and talk to me about his feelings.”

Once again, KS has left me wanting more. I’m dying for them. I n.e.e.d MORE STAGE DIVE ROCKERS! Gimme gimme gimme! I saw that Deep is coming out at the end of this month, and I would kill to get an advanced copy.

So please dive right in to these hot, sensational, rocking, indescribable novels and get a taste of them. I’m obsessed.Signature

Pick it up from amazon here: Lead: A Stage Dive Novel (Stage Dive Series Book 3)

Leave a Reply

