Free Me by Laurelin Paige| Review

Free Me

Synopsis:

Her story started long before she started working at The Sky Launch…

Screw fairytales. The only reward Gwen Anders got from her rough childhood was a thick skin and hard heart. She’s content with her daily grind managing a top NYC nightclub—Eighty-Eighth Floor. So hers isn’t a happily ever after. She doesn’t believe in those anyway.

Then she meets J.C.

The rich, smooth talking playboy is the sexiest thing that Gwen has ever encountered, but she’s not interested in a night-in-shining latex. But when a family tragedy pushes her to the brink, it’s J.C. who’s there to teach her a new method of survival, one based on following primal urges and desires. His no-strings-attached lessons require her to abandon her constant need for control. Her carefully built walls are obliterated.

Gwen discovers there’s a beautiful world outside her prison. Freedom is exhilarating—and terrifying. When she starts to feel something for J.C., she fears for her heart. Especially as she realizes that he has secrets of his own. Secrets that don’t want to set him free.

This series can be read alone or with the Fixed Trilogy.

About The Author:

USA Today and New York Times Bestselling Author Laurelin Paige is a sucker for a good romance and gets giddy anytime there’s kissing, much to the embarrassment of her three daughters. Her husband doesn’t seem to complain, however. When she isn’t reading or writing sexy stories, she’s probably singing, watching Game of Thrones or The Walking Dead, or dreaming of Adam Levine. She is represented by Rebecca Friedman.

My Review: Four Hearts rating

I read this book at a ridiculous pace. I’m pretty sure I finished it in two hours, and not because of the word count. It was literally just that good.

Today I got an email on Facebook saying that I won this book in a giveaway, and boy was I excited. I finished the Fixed Trilogy quite a bit ago, and Free Me has been sitting in my TBR list. I just hadn’t gotten around to buying it yet.

We first meet Gwen in the Fixed Trilogy, but you don’t have to read them in order to know what is happening. This is completely a standalone novel, and Hudson/Alayna are only mentioned sporadically throughout the book.

Gwen is very intriguing. At first I didn’t think I would like her, because she didn’t scream out to me in the Fixed Trilogy. Yet, she really screamed at me from the pages.

She has a horribly painful past. One that a lot of people can relate to, and I find that a really good thing for an author to do. To get to the nitty gritty and show the horrible darkness that really exists in our world. So for that I give a round of applause to Paige, because that sort of pain and darkness is not easy to write about. Sure it’s easier to write about butterflies and rainbows, but where’s the fun in that?

Now an independent adult, she has shut herself off from the world and focuses on her work and family. That is until JC arrives.

I hated how he said my name, like he had all the power because he had that bit of information about me. Hated it and loved it. I also hated how his eyes drew up my body, long and slow. Sensually touching my every nerve, my every angle. Hated and loved it. Hated that I loved it.

He tempts her beyond anything she’s ever felt. He’s just the right escape from everything she wants to forget, but is also much to dangerous. They make a deal. No strings, just sex. The usual, right?

But do those situations ever work out?

He made me feel beautiful. He made me feel wanted. He made me feel  something other than boring.

He made me feel. Period.

These two together are so hauntingly beautiful. They test each other’s limits, sexually and emotionally. JC breaks down her barriers and loosens her up, but little do they know that she is doing the same to him.

I really wish I could make those quote pictures…but I’m horrible at them so I’ll just stick to blockquotes haha.

I’d suggest we take a shower together but you and I both know that if we did that, we’d never get out of here. So jump in there before I tell you not to even bother.

This is one of those books that has you anticipating each sex scene. Some books go too far, but Laurelin Paige brought Gwen and JC together so beautifully that you just couldn’t wait. Each scene brought them closer together. Or broke your heart.

I’m dying for the next book. I’m pretty sure that winning this in a giveaway has ruined me. Definitely a huge fan of Laurelin Paige because she has the ability to take the most broken people and give them a beautiful love story.

It’s absolutely enchanting.

Please pick up this book ASAP!Signature

4666e-waxcreative-goodreads82348-waxcreative-bn-nookdd7b5-waxcreative-amazon-kindle

Leave a Reply

