Book Tag: Reader Problems

As I was scrolling (stalking) my fellow bloggers’ websites, I came upon this pretty fabulous idea. I mean- I know you all just LOVE to have a post that has nothing to do with book reviews. But at least it has something to do with books!

1. You  have  20,000  books  on  your  TBR.  How  in  the  world  do  you  decide  what  to  read  next?

Oh…I’m so horrible at this. I have a ridiculous amount of books that I swear I’m going to read. When I actually get to a book that I need to buy, I almost have a panic attack because I don’t know what to buy. I go by whatever I feel like reading. Am I in the mood for a YA paranormal romance with a lot of teenage angst? Or am I in the mood for a hot and spicy, contemporary romance with a broody, cliche man?

tumblr_my5w5aRToS1t3jnfyo1_500

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I hate when this happens. And it does happen often, especially when I get on of those Read to Reviews for free, or when I’m beta reading. It’s quite depressing actually. I just focus on the redeeming qualities of the book so I can force myself to finish it. I can’t stomach the thought of leaving a book unfinished, because then I really don’t have the right to review it.

3. The  end  of  the  year  is  coming  and  you’re  so  close,  but  so  far  away  on  your  Goodreads  reading  challenge.  Do  you  try  to  catch  up  and  how?

I’ve…never done a reading challenge. *shame face* I think I would definitely read over any challenge that I place on myself, because I apparently read more than I think I do.

4. The  covers  of  a  series  you  love  do.  not.  match.  How  do  you  cope?

As an author, I understand that covers are heavily judged and are usually the deciding factor on whether a person will read it or not. As a reader though…I don’t really care that much. If it looks professional (and not like a 3rd grader drew it on Microsoft Paint), the cover isn’t really a big deal. The story is what matters to me.

5. Everyone  and  their  mother  loves  a  book  you  really  don’t  like.  Who  do  you  bond  with  over  shared  feelings?

Ugh. I hate this. I end up complaining to all my non-reader (meaning they don’t like reading, not that their illiterate) friends. Then they roll their eyes at me. Especially my husband. He gets a good earful while I’m ranting about how stupid and mundane a book is.tumblr_mruqgeDWeD1sork4vo1_500

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I don’t read much in public anymore, because when I actually get out of the house, I’m usually really busy. Otherwise I’m in my house, with pajamas on, trying to block out the kids screaming as I scrape out those last few chapters. But when I was in high school, I remember always bringing my romance novels with me. Kids would tease me mercifully about it, but I didn’t care. Though my teachers commented that maybe I should bring ones with less risqué covers. I remember reading a certain Nora Roberts book and I broke down sobbing in the middle of one of my English classes. Everybody stared at me, so I just lay my head on my desk until it was over!

tumblr_mki775BAt61s6krrko1_500

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?

Definitely re-read. I can’t stand going on to a new book and not remembering who’s who and what’s what.

8. You  do  not  want  anyone.  ANYONE.  borrowing  your  books.  How  do  you  politely  tell  people  nope  when  they  ask?

Well….unfortunately I do allow people to borrow my books sometimes. But only very few people are allowed this luxury, because I know some people will not give them back. *shifty eyes* Those jerks. So I just tell them no lol. I’m a decently blunt person when it comes to that sort of thing.

9. Reading  ADD.  You’ve  picked  up  and  put  down  5  books  in  the  last  month.  How  do  you  get  over  your  reading  slump?

This definitely doesn’t happen to me. I pick up a book, I finish it, then I move on to the next one. No reading slump here!

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Honestly, I can’t afford much. I’m pretty sure my husband and I would have to be kajillionairs in order to actually afford the vast amount of books I want to read. So I wait and wait until I win a giveaway, or I get extra Christmas money 😉 When it actually comes down to picking…it’s very hard. If I want a series, I make sure to get the whole series. And again, it depends on the mood I’m in.

11. After  you’ve  bought  the  new  books  you  can’t  wait  to  get  to,  how  long  do  they  sit  on  your  shelf  before  you  get  to  them?

This depends. I beta-read and am also working on my own novel. I usually dive into it right away, but if I’m super busy, or required to do a review, then those take priority.

Well that was fun. And not as time consuming as I thought. Time to get back to my beta-reading (which has turned out to be quite. the. task.)

Signature

6 thoughts on “Book Tag: Reader Problems

  1. Veronica Del Rosa says:

    I’ve cried in public before because of a book. Darn those books! My husband now knows that if I’m bawling and I have my kindle in hand to just leave me alone. *laughs*
    I think I’ll be stealing this idea from you. Loved the questions. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

