All I’ve Never Wanted by Ana Huang | Review

All I've Never WantedSynopsis:

The Scions were the four richest, most powerful guys at Valesca Academy, and they ruled the school with iron fists. Everyone wanted to date them or be them…everyone, that is, except Maya Lindberg, who just wanted to avoid them until she could graduate.

She almost succeeded, until an ill-advised outburst on her part put her right in the Scions’ path. Just like that, one became her fake boyfriend, one her unwanted matchmaker, one her guardian angel, and the one she couldn’t stand the most? Yeah, he’s her new housemate.

A Young Adult romantic comedy that explores what happens when a girl gets everything she never asked for, including a puppy, a new wardrobe, and, possibly, even true love.

dd7b5-waxcreative-amazon-kindle4666e-waxcreative-goodreads

 

About the Author:

Ana Huang is a twenty-four-year old Florida native who is better known as ACRL37 on Wattpad, a social reading platform. She got the writing bug in fourth grade, when a narrative essay she wrote for class was published in a magazine for elementary and middle school readers. She started writing All I’ve Never Wanted when she was sixteen. The story currently has over 17 million views on Wattpad. Besides reading and writing, she also enjoys traveling, Sunday brunch with friends, and shopping for shoes.

4666e-waxcreative-goodreads18f0c-twitterbutton

 

Review:Three Heart Rating

 

Wow. I am absolutely blown away! I do not usually go toward the Young Adult novels, and All I’ve Never Wanted definitely falls into that category. Yet when Ana Huang contacted me about possibly reviewing her book (for an honest review; I am nothing but honest on my opinion of novels) I found the story-line intriguing. Yes, it does scream High School Drama, but this book has over 17-million views on Wattpad. I think another part of why I really wanted to read it is because the story is very similar to an Asian drama I love called Boys Over Flowers (Hana Yori Dango manga).

Ana Huang is one of those authors that just leaves you captivated in her story. The way she interweaves her words are so descriptive that the reader feels like she is in the world. I loved the world of Valesca, and yes it did seem very High School but that’s what it’s supposed to be right? We were all high school students once, so we can relate to the situations. She has more talent than most, and definitely captivated it inside of this book.

The MFC (main female character) is Maya Lindberg, a half-Asian high school student that is just trying to stay out of the light. She ends up transferring to the famous and elite Valesca Academy, a school that is the playground to the children of the rich. And a playground it is! The students make social connections and cause ruckus all through the campus (makes you wonder where the teachers are) but they all look up to the Scions: four of the richest, hottest, and conceited guys on the campus.

Such a shame, really, that someone so good looking could be such a monster…

Maya tries her best to stay out of their way, focusing instead on her ability to graduate and attend a prestigious college, but one argument with the leader of the Scions, Roman, sends her on a spiraling journey that she can’t seem to get out of.

“Plus, and you can quote me on this, the day Roman Fiori becomes my boyfriend-whether real or fake- is the day hell freezes over.”

I absolutely LOVED Maya and Roman’s relationship. I think that a girl who doesn’t let a guy get his way is amazing, especially when they’re in high school and it’s so easy to succumb. Roman may get annoying for some readers, but I promise if you keep reading he’ll become more likable. Think stuffy and rude but with a very loving and cuddly interior 😉

Ana Huang did a great job on capturing the relationships of the characters, as well as the emotions that pass through each scene. I felt Maya’s frustration, cried her tears, and laughed my butt off. Oh gosh did I ever laugh! This book is so funny that I had to explain to my husband why I was laughing with tears running down my eyes at midnight, hovering over my tablet so the light didn’t wake him (useless since I obviously did that instead).

“You’ve never met her, but let me tell you, Asian grandmothers are not to be messed with.”

There is definitely an attraction between Roman and Maya, but I love that Ana stuck to focusing on building their relationship. It’s so easy to just get them into bed with each other, but instead she built a foundation for a long-lasting relationship with two characters who deserved it.

If you are looking for a hilarious, light-hearted read then I definitely recommend picking this up. And hey, if it’s not your kinda book but you know someone who might be interested, pass it along. Because this is definitely going to be a hit in the YA genre!

“When have I ever led you astray?”

“That time you made me eat an Almond Joy?”

Signature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

