Take the Fall by Marquita Valentine| Author Interview & Promo

Take the FallSynopsis:

Fans of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans will adore Take the Fall, the first spinoff novel from Marquita Valentine’s New York Times bestselling Boys of the South series. In this emotional new romance, passions run hot as a rugged, brooding Marine rekindles an old flame.

As a teenager, Seth O’Connor went to jail for a crime he had nothing to do with. He took the fall to protect the girl he loved, but the cruel realities of prison hardened him. After doing his time, Seth shuts her out and enlists in the Marines—until his grandmother’s funeral forces him to come home and face Rowan Simmons once again. The woman she’s become puts all his high-school memories to shame, and Seth wants her more than ever. Can he be honest about why he denied her for so long?

After Seth pushed her away, Rowan swore that no man would ever hurt her again. But the boy who broke her heart has become a sexy Marine, capable of fulfilling her every desire—and now that he’s back in town, old feelings are simmering to a boil. Rowan wants to stay strong, even as her body surrenders to his expert touch. She only hopes that by taking him back, she can finally help heal the wounds that drove them apart

17e30-waxcreative-ibooks aab0f-kobo 82348-waxcreative-bn-nook dd7b5-waxcreative-amazon-kindle d5d04-waxcreative-goodreads

About the Author:

 

Marquita

Marquita Valentine is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Holland Springs and Boys of the South series, having sold more than a quarter of a million books around the world. She’s been called “one of the best new voices in romance” (Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews) and her books have been praised as “sexy, fun, and slightly addicting” (The Book Queen). When she’s not writing sexy heroes who adore their sassy heroines, she enjoys shopping, reading, and spending time with her family and friends. Married to her high-school sweetheart, Marquita Valentine lives in a seriously small town in the south with her husband, two kids, and a dog. 

e7c33-bloodwhitebutton2b-2bwebsite2bsmall 0a1a1-facebook2bbutton e32ce-twitter2bbutton 4666e-waxcreative-goodreads

Author Interview:

 

Take the Fall is about second chances and overcoming grudges between two lovers. How much of this was inspired by real events (whether your own or someone you know)?

Take the Fall was actually inspired by the movie, The Fast and The Furious. One of my core themes as an author, though, is second chances.

Will we be seeing more of Rowan and Seth in other books of the series? Or will each novel be completely unrelated?

You will be able to see more of Rowan and Seth in the rest of the series, but they will be secondary characters as each book focuses on a new couple.

Did you have to do any extensive research for Seth? The life of a marine is definitely not common knowledge, so did you do interviews, read any articles, etc?

I did some research. I’m the daughter of a Marine, so that helps a bit, and while my sister and quite a few of my brothers&sisters-in-law are recent Army vets, their recent experiences helped me write a man coming home from war.

From personal experience I understand the difficulties of writing with two children in the home. How do you balance the schedule of your day to fit writing in?

I have a schedule that I attempt to stick to each day. When I first started writing my kids were younger and not in school, so that was a little harder to navigate, so I would write during nap time and late at night once every, including my husband, went to bed. Plus, my husband has always been super supportive of me, so he would help make time for me to write so I could make my deadlines.

This is going to sound a bit generic, but I love to hear this from authors. When did you realize that you wanted to write novels, and what inspired the first one?

I’ve always been a writer, from the time I was little, and even while I taught school, I still wrote. However, I have to credit my husband with getting me to take the plunge to become an author. I wrote several books that will never see the light of day, but the first one I actually published—Twice Tempted—was inspired by a television show and a gossip column I’d read. LOL.

Have you ever written something and hated it?

Yeah, I end up hating every book I write during the process of writing. Usually, it’s because my characters aren’t doing what I want them to do. LOL! But in the end, I love my books!

Are there any tips or advice that you would give to people who dream of making a career in writing?

Stop dreaming and do something about it. You have to write in order to become a writer.

I always hear the saying ‘To be a better writer you need to read, read, read…’ so my next question is: What are you currently reading right now?

I’m reading James Dashner’s The Maze Runner

Is there anything you can share about your current WIP with us?

Currently, I’m working on one of my Indie books, Love So Tempting—a series about brothers who fall in love—and it’s an enemies to lovers romance, which is one of my all time favorites to read and write.

What is your writing method? Do you outline, just do it, or have some magical method that nobody has discovered yet?

I’m a plotser, which means I do plan it out, but leave a lot of wiggle room. 🙂

Is creating the names really hard for you? I find myself constantly researching names to find the perfect fit.

It can be. I used to teach so there are names I attach to certain character traits or people, and that can make it difficult for me to use without thinking of that person.

Where do you find the inspiration for your novels? In a dream, people watching, song lyrics?

All the above. LOL. Usually, people watching, song lyrics, and movies/television shows. I don’t think I’ve ever dreamed a book.

Thanks so much for letting me interview you Marquita! 

Thanks for having me!

Giveaway:

 

Prizes:

One Loveswept Mug

One Flirt Mug

Ebook copies of:

CLAIMED by Stacey Kennedy

MY OBSESSION by Cassie Ryan

DEEP AUTUMN HEAT by Elisabeth Barrett

TAKE THE FALL by Marquita Valentine

YOUR TO KEEP by Serena Bell

SWEET THE SIN by Claire Kent

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Advertisements

One thought on “Take the Fall by Marquita Valentine| Author Interview & Promo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s