Witches of Blackbrook by Tish Thawer ~*Review*~

Witches

Synopsis:

Through space and time, sisters entwined. Lost then found, souls remain bound.

Three sisters escape the Salem witch trials when the eldest casts a spell that hurdles their souls forward through time. After centuries separated, fate has finally reunited them in the present day.

One the healer, one the teacher, and one the deceiver.

Will their reunion return their full powers, or end their souls journey forever?

A Witches of BlackBrook novel

 

dd7b5-waxcreative-amazon-kindle 82348-waxcreative-bn-nook 78a55-goodreads-button

About the Author:Tish

Tish Thawer writes paranormal romances for all ages. Her magickal elements and detailed world-building are a welcome constant in every novel.

Before becoming a writer she worked as a computer consultant, a photographer and a graphic designer. She also operates a custom glass etching business, in addition to being a wife and the mother of three wonderful children.

She’s been a fan of the paranormal for as long as she can remember. Anything to do with superpowers, myth and magic has always held a special place in her heart. From her first paranormal cartoon, Isis, to the phenomenon that is Twilight, this genre has always been a part of her life.

You can find Tish on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AuthorTishThawer

A common FAQ: “How do you pronounce her last name?”

Answer: Think “Bower” or “Thow-er”. It’s Persian!

Author links:
My Review:

 

This book was very different for me. After requesting a review copy from Xpresso Book Tours, I kind of thought to myself “What have you gotten yourself into?”. Not in a necessarily bad way, because that is one heck of a synopsis. But it was the fear of trying something new.

 

Tish Thawer’s WITCHES OF BLACKBROOK was intriguing from the beginning. I’m a huge fan of the paranormal novels (obviously, since I’m writing in that genre), but something about her teasers scared me a bit. So once I cracked open that first page, I was relieved to find that it wasn’t going to be so horribly dark that I couldn’t stand it. Let’s face it, some of the witchy books can get a little…too much sometimes.

 

There was a great balance in this book with lighthearted humor, suspense, mystery, romance, and friendship. I found myself constantly questioning what would happen next, which is always a great sign. Although I had guessed what would happen (because of the synopsis), I loved finding the twists and turns as they came along.

 

The characters were very strong. I enjoyed Trin despite her sometimes bland personality. She was strong, loyal, and loving. For her to encounter what she did and still come out of it as herself is pretty revealing of her character. Seeing the different flashbacks and understanding the characters was essential, and I think that Tish did a really great job of revealing just enough each time.

 

I wouldn’t call this book too much of a ‘steamy romance’. There are romance elements, but it primarily focuses on the suspense and story-line. Not necessarily a bad thing, since I LOVE a good story-line. But I just think it’s essential some of my readers know it because I read a lot of steamy romance lol.

 

Overall, WITCHES OF BLACKBROOK was a very interesting read, and I would recommend it to my readers who enjoy a great paranormal story-line with lots of revealing plot twists.

 

Signature
2 thoughts on “Witches of Blackbrook by Tish Thawer ~*Review*~

    • hsavage1 says:

      It is good! I think people just get a little crazy with the darkness of witchcraft. While it fits in some books, sometimes it feels really forced. This book was very natural with the wiccan/witchcraft

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

