~*Review*~ Protecting Shaylee by Elle Christensen

25414608Synopsis:

Shaylee

As a child, I believed in the fairytales my father told me.
Until he was gone and with him, that belief.
As a girl, I believed in the friendship and protection of Aden.
He made me begin to believe again.
As a woman, I believed in the possibility of love and passion between myself and Aden.
Until he was gone and with him, my belief in magic and happy endings.

Aden

When she was a child, I was tasked with her protection.
As a girl, I became her friend.
As a woman, I could no longer see the child I knew and was forced to fight a growing attraction.
Unable to lie and unable to tell the truth, I left.
Now I’ve returned to give the knowledge I couldn’t before, that she is half Fae.
The darkness is stalking her and I am desperate to teach her what she needs to know to protect herself.
And determined to make her mine.

*Part of a series, while it can be read as a standalone, the story continues to build through the following books.
**Recommended for 18+ due to sexual content and language
*** Approx 73,000 words, this is a full length novel.

dd7b5-waxcreative-amazon-kindle 78a55-goodreads-button

About the Author:

logo on black

I’m a lover of all things books, a hopeless romantic, and have always had a passion for writing. Between being a sappy romantic, my love of an HEA, my crazy imagination, and ok, let’s be real, my dirty mind, I fell easily into writing romance.
I’m a huge baseball fan and yet, a complete girly, girl. I’m an obsessive reader and have a slight (hahaha! Slight? Yeah, right) addiction to signed books.
I’m married to my very own book boyfriend, an alpha male with a sexy, sweet side. He is the best inspiration, my biggest supporter and the love of my life. He is also incredibly patient and understanding about the fact that he has to fight the voices in my head for my attention.
I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoyed writing them!

d5d04-waxcreative-goodreads 40922-twitterbutton 3271d-facebookbutton

My Review:

 

This is one of those books that has been forever on my TBR list and I just never picked up. Between writing and the novels I’ve requested from book tours, I’ve been reading a lot less books that I just pick up. I was lucky enough to win Protecting Shaylee and the second book Love Ean at a book release party, so I really had no excuse to get crackin’ on reading it!

For a debut novel, I am just astounded. Protecting Shaylee has it all. I went in, unsure of what to expect. It’s a fae novel, paranormal romance, and lately I’ve been really dragging on the PNR. And I LOVE PNR. I mean, I better, since I’m writing in that genre.

I absolutely adored Shaylee as a heroine. She is spunky, wears funny t-shirts, and takes everything like a champ. It’s not everyday you find out your not human. Not to mention the guy you’ve had a crush on for years is Fae, too. She maintained her personality throughout the book, which is a big pro for me. Mind you, she seemed to change whenever Aden was around, but sometimes that just how love is.

Aden. Oh, Aden. I’m not much of a blond person. I tend to go for the tall, dark and handsome men. But I think I could definitely do with a 6’4″ blondie with deliciously gem-like eyes, that calls me beautiful and sexy every chance he gets. Oh yeah…I could definitely sacrifice for that 😉

Not only are the characters unbelievable (even the secondary characters, which have made me very excited to read her future novels), but the story itself is incredible. The plot was a pretty basic trope, but Elle’s Christensen brings a new flare to the Fae romance. The sexual tension, the sexy scenes, and even the lovey-dovey scenes are all well written and kept me intrigued from the get-go. I read the whole book in one sitting, during my daughters nap. It’s not too long, but it’s not exceedingly short either.

While this is a stand-alone, because each book has it’s own characters, it seems as though each book is based off of one large story-line. This is one of those ‘you are fated and have tons of power that will change the fate of all those around you’ type of stories, yet it isn’t concluded at the end of Protecting Shaylee. I kind of like it though, because now the new books will have new couples, but I will still be intrigued to read because I need to know what happens!

Next on my TBR list: Loving Ean, book 2 in the Fae Guard series.

Signature

2 thoughts on “~*Review*~ Protecting Shaylee by Elle Christensen

Leave a Reply

