~*Review*~ My Highland Bride by Maeve Greyson

cover65526-mediumSynopsis:

Perfect for fans of the Highlander novels of Karen Marie Moning and Janet Chapman, Southern sass meets Highland heat in Maeve Greyson’s scintillating new Highland Hearts romance.

With bedroom eyes and racetrack curves, Kenna Sinclair seems like just another pretty Kentucky girl. But she can also read minds, erase memories, and jump through time—a skill set that comes in handy when her matchmaking granny sends her back to thirteenth-century Scotland on the pretext of visiting her older sister. When she encounters the clan’s womanizing man-at-arms, Kenna instantly knows the gorgeous Highlander has only one thing on his mind. She vows to steer clear of him, but after a single electrifying touch, she finds that playing hard to get won’t be quite so easy. . . .

Bewitched by the first lass who could ever resist him, Colum Garrison will do anything to prove his devotion, even ask for Kenna’s hand in marriage—and swear off his chosen form of recreation until their wedding night. It’s a burden for a man of his thunderous appetite, but the sinful temptation is not his alone: Colum’s fetching bride-to-be is practically trembling with anticipation for a moment that can’t come soon enough. When she’s willing, Colum will be ready and waiting—with a love that lasts a lifetime.

dd7b5-waxcreative-amazon-kindle 82348-waxcreative-bn-nook 78a55-goodreads-button

My Review

This was my first introduction into a Maeve Greyson novel. Apparently there’s one before this in the series, but I didn’t necessarily feel like I was missing too much vital information. This book did make me want to read the first one, however.

I’ve been on a bit of a highlander twist lately. Especially time travel. I received this beauty on Netgalley a while ago, and somehow it passed through my carousel into ‘no-mans land’. But I will definitely be adding some more Maeve Greyson books to my TBR list.

My Highland Bride was full of wit, humor, and sizzling romance. She had just the right amount of stubborn and bitchiness in her heroine for me. And Colum was rough but affectionate, just the way a man should be.

Colum treated her hand to another kiss, a slower kiss spiced with a knowing look as he held her palm to his mouth.
“Aye. Yer riding lesson will be on the morrow.”
Riding lesson. Tomorrow. Horse totally optional. Kenna wet her mouth and nodded. “Tomorrow, then.”

What I also loved was Maeve’s appropriate use of the Scottish accent. I’m not always a huge fan of authors using accents in novels, especially Scottish ones. They get to be too much and then you’re head just hurts as you’re trying to figure out what the heck is going on. But for some reason, it really just fit with Maeve. I could hear Colum’s voice (*cough* maybe a little bit of Jamie from Outlander as well…but who’s judging?) and that is SO important.

It wasn’t an erotic novel. This is a huge one for me. I love my spicy reads, but some books just don’t need it. Especially when a novel is set in the past. Am I the only one who thinks it’s weird to hear a maiden’s thoughts from that time period and she’s thinking as we modern women do? I’m sorry, but I doubt the realism in that.

But there’s an exception here, because Kenna isn’t from 13th century Scotland. She’s from Modern day Kentucky. So when I hear her thinking dirty thoughts and being bold, I can understand it.  Because that’s how a lot of women are. It really made things interesting.

Love love LOVE the fantasy element, again. People have been making some good twists with the time-travel. There are some things that are kinda….iffy, but overall I love the world Maeve created. I’m interested to see where she will be going with the next set of characters in My Tempting Highlander, coming out in February 2016.

Leave a Reply

