Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire ~*Review*~

11505797Synopsis:

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

About the Author:4464118

Jamie McGuire was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She attended Northern Oklahoma College, the University of Central Oklahoma, and Autry Technology Center where she graduated with a degree in Radiography.

Jamie paved the way for the New Adult genre with the international bestseller Beautiful Disaster. Her follow-up novel, Walking Disaster, debuted at #1 on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestseller lists. Beautiful Oblivion, book one of the Maddox Brothers series, also topped the New York Times bestseller list, debuting at #1. In 2015, books two and three of the Maddox Brothers series, Beautiful Redemption and Beautiful Sacrifice, respectively, also topped the New York Times, as well as a Beautiful series novella, Something Beautiful.

Novels also written by Jamie McGuire include: apocalyptic thriller and 2014 UtopYA Best Dystopian Book of the Year, Red Hill; the Providence series, a young adult paranormal romance trilogy; Apolonia, a dark sci-fi romance; and several novellas, including A Beautiful Wedding, Among Monsters, Happenstance: A Novella Series, and Sins of the Innocent.

Jamie is the first indie author in history to strike a print deal with retail giant Wal-Mart. Her self-published novel, Beautiful Redemption hit Wal-Mart shelves in September, 2015.

Jamie lives in Steamboat Springs, Colorado with her husband, Jeff, and their three children.

Find Jamie at www.jamiemcguire.com or on Facebook, Twitter, Google +, Tsu, and Instagram.

 

My Review

 

Have you ever thought you read a novel, but then realized you didn’t? So I’ve been seeing this book all over my newsfeed, because Aestas Book Blog is constantly posting this one quote from it. And I keep thinking “Oh I’ve read that book.”

Nope.

So I picked it up and got to reading.

It’s wonderfully written, and I absolutely adore the story. It was actually refreshing for the guy to not be broody and an asshole.

I was desperate to know more about Abby, which is a good thing. You don’t really find out her story until near the end, so I kept guessing what happened.

The sex scenes were…okay. I like them to be a little bit dirtier, but since I just finished a YA novel recently, it was good to see at least a little action. Some authors just aren’t comfortable writing the dirty. As a writer, I understand. It’s probably the hardest scene to write. But I REALLY wanted to read a little more of some “Travis- Action” if you know what I’m sayin… *wink wink*

Not gonna lie…Abby irritated the freaking hell outta me. Her reasoning for not being with Travis had me gritting my teeth and wanting to slap the shit out of her. Her best friend, America, really has the patient of the saint. Really though. If I was her best friend, whether I knew her background or not, I would have been like “You need to stop being a bitch. Really though.”

Overall, I do recommend this. Travis and Abby have a beautiful love story, and the characters are really well thought out. Even though Abby’s personality irritated me, Jamie really kept her personality alive on the page….not matter how much I wanted to beat it out of her. And that’s what is important.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

