Excerpt & Review: Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti #Giveaway

Enter to Win a

Print Copy of MERCURY STRIKING

 

MERCURY STRIKING

The Scorpius Syndrome #1

Rebecca Zanetti

Releasing on January 26, 2016

Zebra

 

 

With nothing but rumors to lead her, Lynne Harmony has

trekked across a nightmare landscape to find one man—a mysterious, damaged

legend who protects the weak and leads the strong. He’s more than muscle and

firepower—and in post-plague L.A., he’s her only hope. As the one woman who

could cure the disease, Lynne is the single most volatile—and

vulnerable—creature in this new and ruthless world. But face to face with Jax

Mercury…

 

Danger has never

looked quite so delicious…

BUY NOW

Amazon | B & N | Google

Play | iTunes | Kobo

My Review

I’m not gonna lie, I was really excited to review this book. I was completely drawn in from the first paragraph and knew that this novel was going to be outstanding.

Despair hungered in the darkness, not lingering, not languishing…but waiting to bite. No longer the little brother of rage, despair had taken over the night, ever present, an actor instead of an afterthought.

This book is full of edge-of-the-seat suspense, erupting passionate sex, and despair. I was riveted and so depressed when it was over. There is such amazing promise with this series, and that little tempter at the end toward book 2 really killed me.

Rebecca Zanetti, I want to sit down and have coffee with you (or facetime since you live a century and a half away), and just talk about the way you created the world of this book.  I’m not sure if she’s a free-writer or if she plotted the whole thing, but I need to know her technique and worship her talent.  As an author you strive for the ability to create the way Rebecca did, and I’m so sad that I’m only discovering her now. I’m going to have to look into her series apparently.  They say reading great novels can help you create great novels, and Rebecca Zanetti may just be an inspiration I need.

Every single character, every single moment, was carefully thought out and integral to the plot. I fell in love with the characters over and over again. Even the secondary characters developed and grew as the story went along. They all had character arcs, and that is something so difficult to achieve. Rebecca Zanetti made it seem easy, as any skilled artist should.

I can’t even describe how much I recommend this novel, especially to those that love post-apocalyptic novels such as I. There is something about reading as the human race pushes to survive the evil of the world; whether that be other humans, or mother nature itself.

Text here

Her former lack of grace was the least of her worries. At some point, she’d need to tell Mercury everything, especially if he wouldn’t let her out of the room. But not now, and definitely not while in such a vulnerable position. “I haven’t been attacked, Jax.”

“Good.” His smile seemed almost sinful. “Then you can relax here in our bed and not flinch when I pull up the covers.”

Heat flared through her. Our bed? “Oh, hell no. I’m not sharing a bed with you.”

He glanced at her, at the bed, down at his chest, and then back at her. “I believe you are.”

She shoved him. “Absolutely not.” When he didn’t move or respond, she coughed out air. “Why? Why would you want to share a bed?”

He sighed. “It’s not personal. You’re a danger to people, and some of them might be a danger to you. So you stay with me, under guard, where I can protect everybody.” He pointed to the stacked locks on the door, which she’d failed to study the day before. The door was metal, huge, and obviously not native to the building. “There are locks on both sides, and I have all the keys. One of us could take the couch, but frankly, it sucks.”

What should’ve been the worst come-on she’d ever heard actually sounded like the truth. It was a pretty cage, but a cage nonetheless. She needed freedom. “I want my own place.”

“You’re not safe, and I can’t have guards on you twenty-four

seven. Sometimes it’s just me, and I need sleep. So you sleep when I sleep, and everybody stays safe. Period.” He stretched an arm above his head, showing that amazingly cut chest. “Like I said, I won’t force you. You want the couch? It’s yours.”

She eyed the cold-looking, rather worn pleather. It was a freakin’ luxury compared to sleeping on the hard ground, but even so, now she’d had a taste of a real bed again . . . “A gentleman would give me the bed.”

He scratched the stubble next to his scar. “All the gentlemen are dead, baby. Soldiers and survivors are what we have now.”

She pushed up to one elbow, discreetly eyeing the locks on the door before studying him. “How dangerous is it here for me?”

“Very.” His eyes darkened from bourbon to Guinness. “We have many who haven’t been infected, and you are a carrier.”

“Anybody who survived the fever is a carrier.”

“As you know, there are rumors that you carry a new strain of the disease.”

More lies meant to force her away from other people. “We already discussed that. Either you believe me or you don’t,” she whispered.

His expression didn’t gentle. “There are so many rumors and ghost stories out there; I don’t pay attention to them.”

She swallowed, her throat clogging. “Good. There is no new strain of the bacterial infection. I’m no different from anybody else who’s survived Scorpius.”

“You’re the only one with a blue heart.”

“I know. I was infected with the main strain, and then we used one of the many experiments to save my life, turning my heart blue. We were never able to duplicate the exact concoction again, although since it didn’t cure me, I’m not sure it matters.”

“You’re different. How can it not matter?”

She sighed. “My heart is blue, as are a few veins around it. I have both photosphores and chromatophores in my heart, which without the initial bacterial infection would be impossible. Squids and octopi have the same materials, essentially, and they can turn different colors—usually blue.”

“So you have squid genes?” His brows furrowed, and his gaze pierced her.

She snorted. “Not exactly, but close enough.”

 

USA Today Bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti has

worked as an art curator, Senate aide, lawyer, college professor, and a hearing

examiner – only to culminate it all in stories about Alpha males and the women

who claim them. She writes contemporary romances, dark paranormal romances, and

romantic suspense novels.

 

Growing up amid the glorious backdrops and winter

wonderlands of the Pacific Northwest has given Rebecca fantastic scenery and

adventures to weave into her stories. She resides in the wild north with her

husband, children, and extended family who inspire her every day—or at the very

least give her plenty of characters to write about.


One thought on “Excerpt & Review: Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti #Giveaway

Leave a Reply

