Review: Sweet Home by Tillie Cole

18105011

Synopsis:

At age twenty, Molly Shakespeare knows a lot.

She knows Descartes and Kant.

She knows academia and Oxford.

She knows that the people who love you leave you.

She knows how to be alone.

But when Molly leaves England’s grey skies behind to start a new life at the University of Alabama, she finds that she has a lot to learn — she didn’t know a summer could be so hot, she didn’t know students could be so intimidating, and she certainly didn’t know just how much the folks of Alabama love their football.

When a chance encounter with notorious star quarterback, Romeo Prince, leaves her unable to think of anything but his chocolate-brown eyes, dirty-blond hair and perfect physique, Molly soon realises that her quiet, solitary life is about to dramatically change forever…

Mature New Adult novel — contains adult content, highly sexual situations and mature topics. Suited for ages 18 and up

My Review

I remember when Sweet Home was all over my newsfeed. The image of the hands holding, the title, everything, stuck in my mind for the longest time. Things got busy with writing, promised reviews, and life, so I never got around to actually reading it. Then I received an Amazon gift card from a friend which allowed me to buy multiple books I’d been waiting on forever. And guess which one I got?

Holy. Smokes.

Rome. Just…Rome. Another Romeo and Juliet spinoff, which simultaneously had me rolling my eyes and super excited.

If you’re looking for a sort of angsty but sweet, tough but loving type of novel, this one is it. I’m not even a huge football fan. I watch it, but I’m not like those that are portrayed in the book who know players by faces and names, who can recite historical plays, etc. But this book made me love football. Why? Because…Rome. *drool*

I tend to avoid NA college romances because sometimes they can layer on the cheese-factor a little too strong. But Tillie avoided a lot of it. Which was amazing.

And Molly. She was just such a sweetheart, and I want to be her best friend. I want to be Tillie’s best friend so we can talk books. Molly’s background wasn’t annoying. If anything, it was pretty basic for the book world. But Tillie build her up in a way that made Molly real, believable, and freaking awesome.

Molly and Rome together were just too cute. Not cute in the annoying way, but the kind that made my heart flutter. They were good. I loved them. And OMG were they funny.

Please. Pick this book up now!

dd7b5-waxcreative-amazon-kindle  78a55-goodreads-button

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

